Once you have enabled comments, you can disable them, but that will hide any existing comments from videos. If you re-enable it in the future, the comments will appear again as they were before you disabled them. To disable them:
Navigate to People, go to Comments, and click Settings. Then click Disable. After confirming you want to disable them, the comments will be hidden from our viewers.