Once commenting has been enabled, you can disable commenting at any time. When comments are disabled, comments will be hidden from the admin site and Community will be removed from the content pages.
To disable commenting:
-Navigate to the People tab and select Comments
-Click on Disable
-Click on Disable Commenting to confirm