Deleting a category will permanently delete the category and any associated details. By deleting a category, the individual videos within the category will not be deleted - they will continue to appear in the list of videos. If you need to delete videos, follow these instructions.
Navigate to the category you want to delete under Content > Categories and click Edit. Then scroll down and click Delete Category.