Sometimes end-users will be subscribed via an in-app purchase as well as make a purchase directly through your Uscreen storefront. This often happens when a user forgets they already have a subscription.
This can happen when a subscriber has not logged into their app through which they purchased access in several weeks (in the case of Apple or Android based subscriptions), and when they try to access the content via the web, they realize that they no longer have access due to default revocation on our end.
The subscriber may then proceed to purchase subscription access through the web. However, if they do still have a current subscription through in-app purchase, they simply need to restore their purchase to regain access instead of purchase a new one.
We have the steps you need to resolve this outlined below.
Since in-app purchases have to be cancelled in-app, your customer can opt to cancel in-app and continue to be billed via the web.
If you'd like to give them a "credit", you can change their next invoice date to be further in the future to make up for any double charging that may have occurred.
Kindly remind your customer to only pay via the web moving forward, unless they cancel their access via the web first, before subscribing in-app in the future.
Your customer can keep their in-app subscription, and you can delete their current subscription, after confirming the current invoice for the subscription came from a source that is in-app based (ie. Apple Payments, Google Play, Amazon, etc.. basically not Stripe, Paypal, Uscreen Gateway, or Authorize.net).
Then, ask client to restore their in-app purchase. This should restore their access to the subscription if they have a valid subscription with the app provider.
Unfortunately, this route means that the user will not be able to have a "credit" like in Option 1, as the payments are not controlled by Uscreen and are controlled by the app payment processor.
Kindly remind your customer to not subscribe to a subscription via the web moving forward unless they have already cancelled their in-app purchase to avoid double charges in the future.