What are Collections?
Collections allow you to group and sell videos as a series—you can group them either because they have the same subject or because they need to be watched in a specific order. Depending on your content, this could be a TV series an instructional series, or something like a 10-day yoga course.
You can create a collection by going to Content > Collections > + Add New Collection
Segmenting Collection Content
Within a collection, you can add sections to segment your content: we call these dividers. Let's use an example for this; say I'm offering a course on Gardening, here's what that would look like:
In the example above, we have:
Day 1 (Divider)
Wolf Lichen Tree
Day 2 (Divider)
Day 3 (Divider)
This example collection contains 5 videos, and they are sectioned into 3 dividers which gives some organization and order to the playlist.
Now, if you're wondering what the difference between categories and collections is, categories are essentially like genres for your content—a collection will belong to a category. If you've got a fitness channel, you might organize your videos in categories like lifting, cardio, or nutrition. If you want to know more about categories, you can read our article!
Publishing a Collection
Collections have three potential statuses—they can be Unpublished, Published, and Scheduled. To publish it, navigate to Content and then choose Collections. Select the Collection you want to make changes to, and click Edit. Then go to Publication and choose one of the three options.
Unpublished collections will not be available in your catalog and cannot be seen or purchased by customers.
Published collections are visible to customers. They will be shown in the catalog and will be available for purchase according to the pricing you have set. You can add an Expiration Date to remove the video from the catalog once the last day is reached.
Scheduled videos are not published until their scheduled Release Date. At the scheduled date and time, they will be made available on your storefront. If you enable the notification email, a notification email will be sent to all customers on the publication date. You can also set an Expiration Date for scheduled collections.
Unpublish a Collection on a Certain Date
Adding an expiration date to a collection will automatically set it to Unpublished, which will remove it from your catalog.
Videos scheduled to expire will be removed sometime between 12:00 AM UTC and 12:10 AM UTC on the date that you set it to be unpublished. For example, if you set the video to expire on April 14, then it will expire on April 14 between 12:00 AM UTC and 12:10 AM UTC.
To select the date:
Navigate to the collection you want to set an expiration date for under Content > Collections, and click Edit. Under visibility, click either Published or Scheduled and then click + Add expiration date to enter the date you would like to unpublish the collection.
Schedule a Collection Release Date
The ability to schedule a collection for release gives you greater flexibility in controlling your available content. Once a scheduled collection has reached its release date, it will appear in your catalog, and if you choose to, you can automatically send a notification email to all customers letting them know that new content has been added to your storefront.
Navigate to Content select Collections, select the collection you want to schedule a release for, and click Edit. Under the Visibility section, set the Publication Status to Scheduled and add a date and time below in the Date selector.
If you want to notify all customers that new content is available, turn on the Notification Email by clicking Send email notification and update the email subject and body.
Add Drip Settings to Video Content
Drip Delays are delays that begin as soon as a customer is granted access to the content. For instance, if you set a 1-day drip delay on a particular video in a collection, that video will not be accessible for viewing until 1 day after the viewer is given access or signs up for your membership.
To set a drip delay go to:
Edit the collection where the video is present
Scroll down to Playlist and Drip Settings
click on Drip for the video you wish to add a drip delay for.
The Drip Settings allow you to set the number of days you want to delay access to the video after the viewer signs up.
You can also optionally include an email notification that gets sent when access is granted via the drip delay.